Growth Chart DIY

I’ve had this project in mind for a long time, and now that my nephew is 2, I finally get to make it.  You can buy them on etsy in all sorts of styles for $35 to over $100 PLUS shipping.  But you can make it yourself with a bit of wood and some imagination.

I had a nice piece of dark wood leftover from a construction project.   I like it because it’s just 6 inches wide and 1/4 inches thick, which makes it light and easy to hang on a wall.  I decided to cut the length to six feet, and mark the bottom at six inches (to clear the baseboards) and the top 6’6″.  I really wanted the chart to be in both imperial and metric, so I marked inches on one side and centimeters on the other.  My plan was to paint all the numbers, but it turns out I’m a terrible painter.  Instead, I used patterned duct tape to make the feet markers and Avery Window Decals from Walmart to make the centimeters.  Did you know that in Microsoft Word you can indicate that you want your table cells to be exactly 1 centimeter x 1 centimeter?  Now you do!

Next I drilled a whole at exactly the six foot marker, to make hanging easy.

And my latest discovery?  Gold Sharpie! To cleanly and permanently mark  the height on the dark wood.

Here’s K, looking rather unsure, next to the finished product.

Growth Chart DIY

Growth Chart DIY

 

Leave a Reply

