Bird House Tutorial

Old Bird House

This birdhouse was old when my parents bought their house 27 years ago.

Every year the sparrows come and make it their home and my mom watches their activities from her dining room.  But the fence that the birdhouse is attached to is set to be demolished.  So, I decided this would be a good chance for me to build a new birdhouse.  I salvaged a nice wide board from the demolition of another part of the fence, and I followed the gist of this video tutorial.

If your birdhouse is meant to be functional, then there are a few design elements I would include:

  • First, hinge one of the walls with nails and close with a screw.  This makes it easy to clean out every year.
  • Second, cut the corners off the base.  This allows for drainage.
  • Lastly, make the side walls a 1/2 inch shorter than the main walls so it leaves a little gap under the roof. This allows for airflow.Bird House Tutorial

Tools

  • measuring tape
  • square
  • mitre saw
  • sandpaper
  • hole saw bit with drill
  • hammer

Materials

  • board – I used a 6″x48″
  • twig or dowel for the perch
  • nails
  • wood glue
  • 1 – small screw
  • paint and/or clear coat (optional)Bird House Cut List

Cut List

  • Side Walls 2 – 6″x6.5″
  • Main Walls 2 – 6″x7″ + peak
  • Floor 1 – 6″x4.5″
  • Roof 1 – 6″x7 5/8″
  • Roof 1 – 7″x7″ 5/8″

Instructions

  1. First, draw out your cut lines.  If you don’t have a square, you can use a little math to draw the peaks on your main walls.  Since the peak is an equilateral triangle, and the width is 6″, then a 12″ X (two times the width) on your board will give you two equilateral peaks that face each other.craftambitions.wordpress.com
  2. Cut all four corners off the floor.  This will allow drainage in the house.
  3. Cut some grooves on the inside of the main wall below where the entrance will be.  The birds will like this rough wood to grip with their claws.
  4. Use a hole saw bit and drill a hole for the entrance.  This was a little bit of work and I saw smoke.  Be patient.Bird House Sides
  5. Drill a hole for the perch.
  6. Assemble the walls around the floor.  Pick one Side Wall and only put a nail on each of the top corners.  Don’t put nails on the bottom corners.Bird House Assemble
  7. See how the one Side Wall swings up like a DeLorean door?  That’s so we can easily clean it out at the end of the season.  We’ll secure it soon.Bird House Delorean Door
  8. Nail in the floor.  Don’t forget to leave that DeLorean door swingable.
  9. Add the roof.  Now, if I were smart, I would have made one side of the roof longer than the other side by the thickness of the board.  I hope that made sense.  Except, I can’t cut a 6″ wide board to make a piece that’s 7″x7 5/8″.  So the roof is uneven.  I hope the birds don’t mind.
  10. Now, to secure that DeLorean door.  I drilled a hole into the door only, not the floor, and made it wider than my screw. Then I popped in the screw and hand screwed it into the floor.  So when I do need to clean out the house, I just need a screwdriver to pop in the screw.Bird House Door
  11. Glue in the perch.
  12. Paint, if desired.

Bird House Tutorial

Leave a Reply

