Square Foot Gardening – The Set Up

Thanks again to my favorite resource, Pinterest, I have discovered square foot (meter) gardening.  After all my research, here’s what I have come up with for my needs.  The frame cost me $15 and the soil $41 for a total of $56.

SFG – How to make a frame

To make the frame, here’s what I would suggest.  BTW – This is one of the easiest wood projects I have ever made.  I used all new materials, and the whole thing cost me about $15.  I opted for 2 inch boards instead of 1 inch because I wanted a sturdy box.

Materials

  • 2 pieces of 2x6x92-5/8″ = $8.50
  • 8 screws 2 1/2″
  • 3 cedar nailing strips 8′ $6
  • 9+ nails

Total Cost = $14.50

Equipment

  • saw
  • drill
  • hammer
  • measuring tape

Instructions

  1. Cut the 2×6 boards in half (46 1/4″)
  2. Drill two holes at one end of each board.  Drill the holes 1″ from the end and about 1 1/2″ from the edge.  You only need to drill holes into one end of the board because it’s going to butt up against the un-drilled side.SFG - Frame
  3. Lay the frame on the ground.  Butt up the un-drilled sides to the drilled sides.  (Does that make sense?)
  4. Use your 2 1/2″ screws and screw the frame together.
  5. Lay your frame in a sunny location, somewhere that gets more than six hours of sun.  Set cardboard underneath the frame to prevent grass or other plants from growing up.  I’d use cardboard over landscaping fabric because it’s (I’m) cheap.  Update: Use cardboard.  Grass grew through the fabric.
  6. Fill the frame with your soil.  The recipe for Mel’s Mix is below.
  7. Cut the nailing strips to length and nail them into the frame.  You need 6 pieces to make a 4×4 frame.   Some people just use string to divide out the frame.
  8. PLANT!

SFG $15 Frame – craftambitions.wordpress.com

Ok, you probably noticed that my frame doesn’t exactly look like what I described. First, it’s because I only bought 2 pieces of nailing strip, so I didn’t have enough.  Second, I really want a lot of carrots.  SFG grows veggies in just 6 inches of soil, but for carrots they suggest making little “high rises” to increase the depth to 8 inches.  I decided I wanted to grow A LOT of CARROTS, so I used an 8 inch board on one edge and I added a little divider that adds two inches to the height.  So I end up with an entire row that’s 8 inches deep.

SFG – The soil

Mel’s Mix is 1/3 peat moss + 1/3 blended compost + 1/3 vermiculite.  I’m not going to be too fussy with this mix.  Here’s what I bought, and it filled the frame perfectly.

  • Peat Moss 2.2 cu $7
  • Composted cow manure 15 kg $4
  • Composted sheep manure 15 kg $4
  • Coarse Vermiculite. Two 20L bags $30. (In Edmonton you can find these big bags at Apache Seeds)

Total = $41Mel's Mix - craftambitions.wordpress.com

Here are my resources:

Square Foot Gardening

Alberta Home Gardening

Leave a Reply

