The New Adventures of the Old Dinning Table – Wood Revival

In the late 70’s, when my mom was a newlywed, she picked up a dinning set with 6 chairs at a garage sale. She re-covered the chairs in a brown fabric and we used this table for my entire childhood.

When I recently got a home that could accommodate a real dining table, I salvaged this old one from her basement. Thanks Mom! I also re-named the style from “old-50’s” to “mid-century modern”. Much classier! We used this table all the time, and it was well loved. So it was covered in dings, scratches and water stains. My plan was to re-cover the chairs and refinished the wood.

I knew it would be a lot of work, so I spent some time googling the easiest method. I thought I would have to sand the heck out of it and use harsh chemicals until I discovered this amazing post. http://missmustardseed.blogspot.com/2010/06/oil-vinegar-not-just-for-salads.html

Just like the poster, I was skeptical. But I figured, it was worth a try. If it didn’t work, I would just have to sand and strip it like I had been planning anyway.

The ratio is 3:1 oil and vinegar. I used an old cotton sock and with one quick swipe it looked stunning! The wood turned rich and many of the marks have disappeared. I can’t believe how easy it was and how amazing the results were. I let the mixture soak in overnight, and in the morning I gave it a quick rub down. The wood absorbed a lot of oil. Now it look fantastic!

One thought on “The New Adventures of the Old Dinning Table – Wood Revival

  1. Pingback: Cleaners: Store Bought vs Homemade | Craft Ambitions

Leave a Reply

