How to Make a Busy Board

I was babysitting soon-to-be-one-year-old K and noticed he really likes closing the baby gates and playing with door knobs and locks.  I then remembered seeing Busy Boards on Pinterest, and thought I’ll have to make one for his birthday.  Although my dad wants to take full credit for this idea because apparently he made one for me when I was one, but I don’t seem to remember.

I had the perfect base for this project, a leftover piece of cupboard from our kitchen renovation.  Then I went to the local used hardware store and bought as many moving gadget pieces I could. I got all of this for $11!

I filled in a few holes with new pieces.  The light switch was a little work, I had to cut a hole in the board for the box so the plate would sit flush.  But that meant I knew I was going to add a piece to the back, so it didn’t matter if some of the screws poked through the board.  Plus the knocker is installed from the wrong side.  If I make this again, I would skip the light switch and make sure none of the screws went all the way through the board. This would let me skip the extra step of adding a back.

To finish the piece, I added a 1×1 frame to the back and screwed on a cover so there were no more exposed screws. I used that piece of laminated board that makes up the back of your cupboard.  Does anyone know what that’s called?  Anyway, that was it!  Done.

And since it’s a baby gift, I gave it a good clean with a bleach wipe to remove any sawdust residue  and other grimies.

Busy Board - craftambitions.wordpress.com

Busy Board – craftambitions.wordpress.com

SPROING!!!!!  So far he loves the spring door stop.  Happy 1st Birthday K!

How to mak a Busy Board

2 thoughts on “How to Make a Busy Board

  1. Pingback: Rachel’s Favorite Baby Things | Craft Ambitions

Leave a Reply

